Session Hall "Estrasburgo"

Sunday December 8th

Session Hall: Estrasburgo

10:00 - 11:00

Session Hosted by Signify

Hosted by:

Session Hall "Estrasburgo"

11:30 - 12:30

Physical Climate Risk and Response

Hosted by:

Session Hall "Estrasburgo"

  • 11:30 - 11:40: Welcome

  • 11:40 - 11:55: Keynote: Physical Climate Risk and Response

  • 11:55 - 12:15: Workshop discussions

  • 12:15 - 12:30: Debrief in plenary and wrap up

Climate change is already here and intensifying, so are the risks. Everyone is affected: either first hand, through floods, hurricanes, fire, drought, or extreme temperatures, or through interconnections in global financial, economic, and social systems.

 

While climate risk is starting to be recognized by financial markets, corporations, countries and individuals, many are still over exposed to many risks. That is why McKinsey has undertaken a new research effort to help key decision-makers objectively understand the specific physical risks of climate change, illustrate the socio-economic impact that can be expected in the near-term, and identify actions to manage that risk.

 

At this workshop, McKinsey will lead a working session for stakeholders on how they can better identify and understand the risk they are exposed to, learn from actions being taken across the world, and put in place a new paradigm to manage climate risk and prevent further risk build up.

13:30 - 14:30

Pursuing the Possible: Realising Renewable Energy Systems

Hosted by:

Session Hall "Estrasburgo"

Christian Rynning-Tønnesen  /  President and CEO, Statkraft

Can the world reduce the use of fossil fuels
quickly enough to avoid severe climate change?

Join this session, where Statkraft – Europe’s largest generator of renewable
energy – describes a path towards a sustainable energy system.


President and CEO Christian Rynning-Tønnesen will explore

  • The rapid changes of the energy systems

  • The electrification of societies

  • What Europe will look like in a 1.5 degree world

14:30 - 15:30

Session Hosted by The World Ocean Council

Hosted by:

Session Hall "Estrasburgo"

Subscribe for Updates

Join our mailing list for the latest updates, offers & more.

Media:

Anastasia Linn

anastasia@wclimate.com

+45 31 32 95 56

Selja Snorradottir

selja@wclimate.com

+45 31 35 48 43

Contact Us

Partnerships:

Bardha Kushutani

bardha@wclimate.com

+45 31 14 15 99

James Butler

james@wclimate.com

+44 7878 742345

​Lelde Kazule

lelde@wclimate.com

+45 40 81 70 91

Pauline Ledermann

pauline@wclimate.com

+45 40 83 04 97

Further Inquiries: 

contact@wclimate.com

+45 40 81 70 91

Copyright © 2019 World Climate Summit 2019